February 23, 2019

Vimeo Channel YouTube Channel

FHA Loan Rules For Investment Properties

FHA loans for investment properties

Admittedly, the title, “FHA Loan Rules For Investment Properties” might sound a little misleading; the FHA lender’s handbook HUD 4000.1 states clearly on page 142, “Investment Properties are not eligible for FHA insurance.”

But what is the FHA definition of an investment property?

The answer to that question is twofold-to understand what constitutes an investment property, we have to examine what is NOT an investment. What is the type of home loan the FHA does guarantee?

FHA mortgages are primarily for owner-occupiers. At least one borrower obligated on the mortgage must live in the home as her permanent, principal residence within a reasonable time after the loan closes.

In some cases, FHA loan rules make provisions for borrowers who want to use an FHA loan for a secondary residence, but the borrower is required to meet certain requirements in order to do so.

The FHA definition of an investment property is simple. According to HUD 4000.1, “An Investment Property refers to a Property that is not occupied by the Borrower as a Principal or Secondary Residence.”

So regardless of whether you are buying a fixer-upper home with an FHA 203(k) rehab loan, an existing construction property, or having a home built from the ground up with an FHA One Time Close construction loan, the occupancy requirement is paramount.

FHA loan rules do make an exception, however, in certain instances. According to page 142, we learn:

“Investment Properties are eligible if the borrower is a HUD-approved Nonprofit Borrower, or a state and local government agency, or an Instrumentality of Government.”

The next line in this portion of the FHA loan rules adds, “Investment Properties are eligible for insurance under the HUD Real Estate Owned (REO) Purchasing product, except under the 203(k) program.” Note that the 203(k) rehab loan program is excluded. Additional lender requirements, state law, and other restrictions may apply.

In addition to the occupancy requirement, there is also a geographic consideration for FHA mortgages. They can only be approved for properties that are within the United States as described on page 143:

“The Property must be located within the U.S., Puerto Rico, Guam, the Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, or American Samoa.”

Speak to a loan officer if you are unsure how these requirements apply to your transaction.

Joe Wallace - Staff Writer

By Joe Wallace

May 21, 2018

Joe Wallace has been specializing in military and personal finance topics since 1995. His work has appeared on Air Force Television News, The Pentagon Channel, ABC and a variety of print and online publications. He is a 13-year Air Force veteran and a member of the Air Force Public Affairs Alumni Association. He was Managing editor for www.valoans.com for (8) years and is currently the Associate Editor for FHANewsblog.com.

Connect with Joe:


Browse by Date:

About FHANewsBlog.com
FHANewsBlog.com was launched in 2010 by seasoned mortgage professionals wanting to educate homebuyers about the guidelines for FHA insured mortgage loans. Popular FHA topics include credit requirements, FHA loan limits, mortgage insurance premiums, closing costs and many more. The authors have written thousands of blogs specific to FHA mortgages and the site has substantially increased readership over the years and has become known for its “FHA News and Views”.

5850 San Felipe Suite #500, Houston, TX 77057 281-398-6111.
FHANewsBlog.com is privately funded and is not a government agency.

Share This