October 16, 2019

Vimeo Channel YouTube Channel

Articles Tagged With: disaster

FHA Loans In Special Flood Hazard Areas

FHA Mortgages In Special Flood Hazard Areas

The FHA lender’s handbook, HUD 4000.1, has instructions for the lender to make sure properties to be purchased with an FHA mortgage aren’t located in certain zones. The lender is also tasked with insuring that if the home is located within certain flood hazard areas that the appropriate hazard insurance is obtained as a condition of loan approval. One such zone is the Special Flood Hazard Area or SFHA. HUD 4000.1 instructs the lender to insure that a home is located in an SFHA as declared by FEMA. “The Mortgagee must obtain flood zone determination services, independent of any assessment made by the Appraiser to cover the Life of the Loan Flood Certification” where applicable. But in general, there are some areas where an FHA mortgage simply is not possible | more...